// Sweet & Dessert-Like

Caramel

What It Actually Smells or Tastes Like

A deeper, more cooked sweetness than vanilla -- think caramelized sugar or a caramel candy rather than vanilla extract.

How to Recognize It

Often shows up alongside vanilla but registers heavier and stickier; longer-aged or higher-char bourbons tend to lean this direction.

Flavor perception varies from person to person -- this is a guide for what to check for, not a claim that everyone tasting the same pour will notice it the same way.

How It Connects to Production

Like vanilla, caramel notes largely trace back to sugars in the charred oak reacting with the spirit during maturation. A deeper char level tends to push flavor further in this caramelized direction, though it's an influence, not a guarantee.

Related Descriptors in Sweet & Dessert-Like

Related Glossary Terms

Continue Learning

Bourbon Styles Often Associated With Caramel

Based on each style's own documented flavor tendencies -- not a ranking, and not a guarantee any specific bottle within a style shows this note.

Explore Bottles Showing Caramel

135 real bottles in our Distillery Directory whose own listed flavor notes include a real, closely related phrase for this descriptor (not the exact wording, but the same flavor family, per our alias table).

13th Colony 113 Bourbon Finished With Maple Wood Spirals

13th Colony Distilleries · 113 Proof

13th Colony 15th Anniversary Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 139.2 Proof

13th Colony 2022 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 135.3 Proof

13th Colony 2023 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 136.8 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.64 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 133.74 Proof

13th Colony 2025 Cask Strength Southern Rye Whiskey

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.7 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Cask Strength Southern Rye Whiskey

13th Colony Distilleries · 122.9 Proof

13th Colony Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 95 Proof

1792 Small Batch

Barton 1792 Distillery · 93.7 Proof

A. Overholt Monongahela Mash

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 95 Proof

Augusta Wheated Single Barrel Bourbon

Augusta Distillery · 122.2 Proof

Baker's 13 Year Single Barrel Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 107 Proof

Baker's 7 Year High Rye Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 107 Proof

Basil Hayden Cognac Cask Reserve

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Dark Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Golden Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Toast

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Ben Holladay Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Holladay Distillery · 100 Proof

Bernheim Barrel Proof

Heaven Hill Distillery · Barrel Proof (Varies by Batch)

Blade and Bow 22 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey

· Limited release; reviewed first-party sources do not disclose proof

Blanton's Single Barrel

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 93 Proof

Booker's The Reserves

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut and unfiltered like standard Booker's, but finished in specialty casks that vary release to release (the 2025 edition used used-tequila barrels); proof/ABV not publicly disclosed.

Buckner's 15 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · 119 Proof

Buckner's 17 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Cask strength; proof varies by barrel

Buffalo Trace Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 90 Proof

Carl T. Huber's Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Huber's Starlight Distillery · 100 Proof

Castle & Key Cask Strength Wheated Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · 109.6 Proof

Clermont Steep American Single Malt

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed on the current official page; third-party coverage of the 2023 launch reported roughly 94 proof / 47% ABV, unconfirmed against current official copy.

David Nicholson Reserve

Lux Row Distillers · 100 Proof

E.H. Taylor, Jr. Small Batch

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 100 Proof

Elijah Craig 15-Year-Old Single Barrel

Heaven Hill Distillery · 108 Proof

Elijah Craig 2025 Ryder Cup Limited Edition

Heaven Hill Distillery · 94 Proof

Elijah Craig 21-Year-Old Single Barrel

Heaven Hill Distillery · 94 Proof

Evan Williams 1783 Small Batch

Heaven Hill Distillery · 90 Proof

Evan Williams Bottled-in-Bond (White Label)

Heaven Hill Distillery · 100 Proof

Ezra Brooks 99 Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 99 Proof

FEW The Smashing Pumpkins Bourbon

FEW Spirits · 93 Proof

Four Roses Bourbon (Yellow Label)

Four Roses Distillery · 80 Proof

Four Roses Single Barrel

Four Roses Distillery · 100 Proof

Four Roses Small Batch

Four Roses Distillery · 90 Proof

Frey Ranch Single Barrel Bourbon

Frey Ranch Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–135+ Proof)

Garrison Brothers Bottled in Bond

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 100 Proof

Garrison Brothers PX

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 109 Proof

George Dickel Bottled-in-Bond

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · 100 Proof

Green River 1885 Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · 85 Proof

Green River Full Proof Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · Full / Batch Proof (~117.3 Proof / ~58.65% ABV)

Hardin's Creek Colonel James B. Beam

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Hardin's Creek Jacob's Well

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Hardin's Creek Kentucky Series -- Boston

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Hardin's Creek Kentucky Series -- Clermont

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Hardin's Creek Kentucky Series -- Frankfort

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Heaven Hill Bottled-in-Bond

Heaven Hill Distillery · 100 Proof

Heaven Hill Bottled-in-Bond Double Mash

Heaven Hill Distillery · 100 Proof

Huling Station Straight Bourbon

Old Dominick Distillery · 100 Proof

Jack Daniel's Bonded

Jack Daniel Distillery · 100 Proof

Jack Daniel's Single Barrel Select

Jack Daniel Distillery · 94 Proof

Jeptha Creed Red, White & Blue Bourbon

Jeptha Creed Distillery · 100 Proof

Jim Beam Black (Extra-Aged / 7 Year)

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Jim Beam Repeal Batch

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Jim Beam Single Barrel

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Jim Beam Sunshine Blend

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not publicly disclosed by the official source as of 2026-09.

Jim Beam White Label

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Johnny Drum Private Stock

Willett Distillery · 101 Proof

Kings County Barrel Strength Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–132+ Proof / ~60–66% ABV)

Kings County Peated Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · 90 Proof

Kings County Straight Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · 90 Proof

Knob Creek 10 Year Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 12 Year Cask Strength Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Cask Strength; proof varies by annual release (2026 release: 121.2 proof / 60.6% ABV).

Knob Creek 18 Year Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 21 Year Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 7 Year Single Barrel Reserve Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Individually barrel-selected and bottled; proof not disclosed by the official source.

Knob Creek Single Barrel Select

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 120 Proof

Little Book Chapter 1: The Easy

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut and unfiltered components; overall bottling proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 10: All the Wiser

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Bottled uncut and unfiltered; proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 2: Noe Simple Task

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 3: The Road Home

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Bottled at barrel strength; exact proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 4: Lessons Honored

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 5: The Invitation

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 7: In Retrospect

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 9: None for Granted

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book The Infinite Edition I

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book The Infinite Edition II

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · A new whiskey is added to the blend annually; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Lux Row Four Grain Double Single Barrel

Lux Row Distillers · 115 Proof

Maker's Mark

Maker's Mark Distillery · 90 Proof

Maker's Mark 101

Maker's Mark Distillery · 101 Proof

Maker's Mark 46

Maker's Mark Distillery · 94 Proof

Maker's Mark 46 Cask Strength

Maker's Mark Distillery · Barrel Proof (~108–112 Proof / ~54–56% ABV)

Michter's US★1 Original Sour Mash Whiskey

Michter's Distillery · 86 Proof

Michter's US★1 Small Batch Bourbon

Michter's Distillery · 91.4 Proof

New Riff Kentucky Straight Single Malt

New Riff Distilling · 100 Proof

New Riff Single Barrel Bourbon

New Riff Distilling · Barrel Proof (~105–116+ Proof / ~52.5–58% ABV)

Noah's Mill

Willett Distillery · 114.3 Proof

Old Crow

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Old Dominick Single Barrel Tennessee Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–136+ Proof / ~57.5–68% ABV)

Old Elk High-Malt Straight Bourbon (Cask Strength)

Old Elk Distillery · Cask Strength (~108–116+ Proof)

Old Forester 100 Proof (Signature)

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Forester 1897 Bottled-in-Bond

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Forester 1920 Prohibition Style

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 115 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 114

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 114 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 114 Single Barrel 7 Year

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 114 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 16 Year

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 7 Year Bottled-in-Bond

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Overholt Bonded Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Orphan Barrel Muckety-Muck 26 Year Old Single Grain Scotch Whisky

Orphan Barrel Whiskey Distilling Co. · 92 Proof

Peerless Double Oak Rye

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / 54–57% ABV)

Peerless Small Batch Bourbon

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~108–112 Proof / 54–56% ABV)

Penelope Barrel Strength Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Barrel Proof (~114–116+ Proof / ~57–58% ABV)

Penelope Estate Collection (Bottled-in-Bond)

Penelope Bourbon · 100 Proof

Penelope Toasted Series Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Proof varies by batch (~100 Proof or Cask Strength)

PiggyBack 100 Proof Bourbon (6 Year)

WhistlePig Whiskey · 100 Proof

Pursuit United Barrel Proof Triple Mash Bourbon

Pursuit Spirits · Barrel Proof (~118–122+ Proof / ~59–61% ABV)

Rebel 100 Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 100 Proof

Rowan's Creek

Willett Distillery · 100.1 Proof

Russell's Reserve 10 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Russell's Reserve 13 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof; varies by release (Spring 2026: 121.2 Proof / 60.6% ABV; Spring 2025: 114.8 Proof)

Russell's Reserve 15 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 117.2 Proof

Russell's Reserve 6 Year Old Rye

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Russell's Reserve Single Rickhouse

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Annual barrel-proof series; varies by edition (2022 Camp Nelson C: 112.4; 2023 Camp Nelson F: 117.6; 2024 Camp Nelson B: 120.2; 2025 Camp Nelson E: 128 Proof)

Stitzel Reserve 24 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey

· 2025 inaugural release; nine barrels and 191 bottles; Stitzel-Weller exclusive; aged in Stitzel-Weller warehouses; source undisclosed

Very Old Barton (VOB) 80 / 86 / 90 / 100

Barton 1792 Distillery · Sold at 80, 86, 90, or 100 proof depending on the specific bottling; only the 100-proof bottling is Bottled-in-Bond.

W.L. Weller Special Reserve

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 90 Proof

Whiskey Thief Single Barrel Bourbon

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~114–125+ Proof / ~57–62.5% ABV)

WhistlePig 10 Year Small Batch Rye

WhistlePig Whiskey · 100 Proof

WhistlePig 12 Year World Cask Finish

WhistlePig Whiskey · 86 Proof

Widow Jane "Baby Jane" Bourbon

Widow Jane Distillery · 91 Proof

Widow Jane 10 Year Straight Bourbon

Widow Jane Distillery · 91 Proof

Widow Jane The Vaults (Annual Series)

Widow Jane Distillery · 99 Proof

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 101 Proof

Wilderness Trail Bottled-in-Bond High-Rye Bourbon

Wilderness Trail Distillery · 100 Proof

Woodford Reserve Double Oaked

Woodford Reserve Distillery · 90.4 Proof

Yellowstone Select Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Limestone Branch Distillery · 93 Proof

Explore Bottles by Flavor →
← Back to the Flavor Explorer