// Designation · Bourbon / Rye

High-Proof / Barrel-Proof Whiskey

Bottled at or near its barrel-entry strength, with no or minimal water added; concentrated flavor and higher perceived heat.

At a Glance

Category
Bourbon, Rye
Flavor Direction
Oak & Wood, Spice, Sweet & Dessert-Like, Fruity
Related Styles
Traditional Bourbon, Rye Whiskey

What Makes It Different?

  • Barrel-proof (or cask-strength) whiskey is bottled at or close to the proof it reached inside the barrel, rather than being diluted down to a standard bottling proof.
  • The result is typically more concentrated in both flavor and alcohol heat than the same whiskey would be at a lower bottling proof; proof and flavor concentration are related but separate considerations.

Flavor Profile

Production

Bottled at, or close to, the proof it actually comes out of the barrel at -- little or no water added before bottling. That means more of the barrel's own character reaches the glass undiluted, at the cost of a proof that can run well past standard bottling strength. See Rickhouse Science for how barrel placement and time change what's actually in that barrel to begin with, and the Proof & Dilution Calculator for what cutting a barrel-proof pour down actually does to it.

Explore Bottles

131 real bottles in our Distillery Directory carry this exact designation.

Proof
Age
13th Colony 113 Bourbon Finished With Maple Wood Spirals

13th Colony Distilleries · 113 Proof

13th Colony 113 Rye Whiskey Finished With Maple Wood Spirals

13th Colony Distilleries · 113 Proof

13th Colony 15th Anniversary Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 139.2 Proof

13th Colony 2022 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 135.3 Proof

13th Colony 2023 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 136.8 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.64 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 133.74 Proof

13th Colony 2025 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.65 Proof

13th Colony 2025 Cask Strength Southern Rye Whiskey

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.7 Proof

13th Colony 2025 Double Oaked Bourbon Single Barrel

13th Colony Distilleries · 141 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.82 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Cask Strength Southern Rye Whiskey

13th Colony Distilleries · 122.9 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Double Oaked Bourbon Batch 4

13th Colony Distilleries · 131.5 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Double Oaked Bourbon Single Barrel

13th Colony Distilleries · 141.6 Proof

13th Colony Barrel Symphony: Composition No. 1

13th Colony Distilleries · 116.2 Proof

Angel's Envy Cask Strength Bourbon

Angel's Envy Distillery · Cask Strength (~118–124+ Proof)

Angel's Envy Cask Strength Rye

Angel's Envy Distillery · Cask Strength (~112–116+ Proof)

Augusta Distillery Small Batch Bourbon

Augusta Distillery · 112.2 Proof

Augusta Wheated Single Barrel Bourbon

Augusta Distillery · 122.2 Proof

Ben Holladay Barrel Proof Bourbon (Ryed)

Holladay Distillery · Barrel Proof (~118–124+ Proof / ~59–62% ABV)

Ben Holladay Barrel Proof Soft Red Wheat

Holladay Distillery · Barrel Proof (~116–122+ Proof / ~58–61% ABV)

Ben Holladay Rickhouse Proof (Selected Batches)

Holladay Distillery · Batch Proof (~118–122+ Proof)

Ben Holladay Single Barrel (Bourbon / Wheat)

Holladay Distillery · 100 Proof

Bernheim Barrel Proof

Heaven Hill Distillery · Barrel Proof (Varies by Batch)

Bloody Butcher’s Creed Master Distiller Select

Jeptha Creed Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–124+ Proof)

Booker's Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut & Unfiltered (~124–130+ Proof)

Booker's The Reserves

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut and unfiltered like standard Booker's, but finished in specialty casks that vary release to release (the 2025 edition used used-tequila barrels); proof/ABV not publicly disclosed.

Boxergrail Cask Strength

Rabbit Hole Distillery · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / ~54–57% ABV)

Buckner's 10 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Barrel Proof (~118–125+ Proof)

Buckner's 13 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–145+ Proof)

Buckner's 15 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · 119 Proof

Buckner's 17 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Cask strength; proof varies by barrel

Carl T. Huber's Cask Strength Bourbon

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–120+ Proof / ~55–60% ABV)

Carl T. Huber's Double Oaked Bourbon

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Batch / Cask Strength (~106–112 Proof)

Castle & Key Cask Strength Wheated Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · 109.6 Proof

Castle & Key Restoration Rye

Castle & Key Distillery · 100 Proof

Castle & Key Restoration Rye Single Barrel

Castle & Key Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–125+ Proof / ~57.5–62.5% ABV)

Castle & Key Single Barrel Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · Barrel Proof (Varies, ~108–120+ Proof)

Castle & Key Small Batch Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · ~98–101 Proof (~49–50.5% ABV)

Castle & Key Small Batch Wheated Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · 100 Proof

Cavehill Cask Strength

Rabbit Hole Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–116 Proof / ~55–58% ABV)

Dark Pumpernickel Cask Strength Rye

Middle West Spirits · Cask Strength (~124–128+ Proof / ~62–64% ABV)

Double Cask Collection: Oloroso / Sherry Finish

Middle West Spirits · ~97–100 Proof (~48.5–50% ABV)

E.H. Taylor, Jr. Barrel Proof

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 127.5 Proof

E.H. Taylor, Jr. Barrel Proof Rye

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 126 Proof

Elijah Craig Barrel Proof (ECBP)

Heaven Hill Distillery · 129 Proof

Elijah Craig Barrel Proof Rye

Heaven Hill Distillery · 115.6 Proof

Four Roses Single Barrel (Rotating / Private Select)

Four Roses Distillery · 100 Proof (Standard Lineup) / Barrel Proof (~108–126+ Proof for Private Selection)

Frey Ranch Farm Strength Uncut Bourbon

Frey Ranch Distillery · Cask Strength (~120–132 Proof / ~60–66% ABV)

Frey Ranch Farm Strength Uncut Rye

Frey Ranch Distillery · Cask Strength (~120–125+ Proof / ~60–62.5% ABV)

Frey Ranch Quad Malt / Specialty Releases

Frey Ranch Distillery · Proof varies (~90–110+ Proof)

Frey Ranch Single Barrel Bourbon

Frey Ranch Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–135+ Proof)

Frey Ranch Single Barrel Rye

Frey Ranch Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–130+ Proof)

Garrison Brothers Cowboy Bourbon

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 146.4 Proof

George Dickel Single Barrel 15 Year

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · Variable Proof (~80–105+ Proof)

George T. Stagg

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 134.4 Proof

Green River Full Proof Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · Full / Batch Proof (~117.3 Proof / ~58.65% ABV)

Green River Single Barrel Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · 122.5 Proof

Heaven Hill Grain to Glass Specialty Release Kentucky Straight Wheated Bourbon

Heaven Hill Distillery · Final proof not established in the reviewed source material

Heigold Cask Strength

Rabbit Hole Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–116 Proof / ~55–58% ABV)

Huling Station Single Barrel Bourbon

Old Dominick Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–120+ Proof)

Jack Daniel's Single Barrel Barrel Proof (SBBP)

Jack Daniel Distillery · Barrel Proof (~125–135+ Proof / ~62.5–67.5% ABV)

Jack Daniel's Single Barrel Barrel Proof Rye

Jack Daniel Distillery · Barrel Proof (~130–140+ Proof / ~65–70% ABV)

Jeptha Creed Wheated Bourbon

Jeptha Creed Distillery · 100 Proof or Batch Proof (~115 Proof)

Kings County Barrel Strength Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–132+ Proof / ~60–66% ABV)

Kings County Barrel Strength Empire Rye

Kings County Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–128+ Proof)

Kings County Barrel Strength Peated Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · Barrel Proof (~122–128+ Proof)

Knob Creek 12 Year Cask Strength Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Cask Strength; proof varies by annual release (2026 release: 121.2 proof / 60.6% ABV).

Knob Creek Single Barrel Cask Strength Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Cask Strength single-barrel selection; recent example bottled at 127.1 proof.

Larceny Barrel Proof

Heaven Hill Distillery · 119.6 Proof

Little Book Chapter 10: All the Wiser

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Bottled uncut and unfiltered; proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 3: The Road Home

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Bottled at barrel strength; exact proof not disclosed by the official source.

Maker's Mark 46 Cask Strength

Maker's Mark Distillery · Barrel Proof (~108–112 Proof / ~54–56% ABV)

Maker's Mark Cask Strength

Maker's Mark Distillery · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / ~54–57% ABV)

Maker's Mark Private Selection

Maker's Mark Distillery · Cask Strength (~107–114 Proof)

Michelone Reserve Cask Strength Bourbon

Middle West Spirits · Cask Strength (~120–124+ Proof / ~60–62% ABV)

New Riff 6-Year Malted Rye Single Barrel

New Riff Distilling · Barrel Proof (~110–118+ Proof)

New Riff Single Barrel Bourbon

New Riff Distilling · Barrel Proof (~105–116+ Proof / ~52.5–58% ABV)

New Riff Single Barrel Rye

New Riff Distilling · Barrel Proof (~105–118+ Proof / ~52.5–59% ABV)

Old Dominick Single Barrel Tennessee Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–136+ Proof / ~57.5–68% ABV)

Old Elk Cask Strength Rye / Wheat

Old Elk Distillery · Barrel Proof (~114–118+ Proof)

Old Elk High-Malt Straight Bourbon (Cask Strength)

Old Elk Distillery · Cask Strength (~108–116+ Proof)

Old Elk Infinity Series

Old Elk Distillery · Varies (~100–116 Proof)

Old Ezra 7 Year Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 117 Proof

Old Ezra 7 Year Straight Rye

Lux Row Distillers · 114 Proof

Old Forester Single Barrel (100 Proof / Barrel Strength)

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 100 Proof or Barrel Proof (~125–135+ Proof)

Old Overholt Cask Strength

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Annual limited release; age and proof vary by year (2023: 10 Years / 121 proof; 2024: 11 Years / 107.4 proof; 2025: 12 Years / 117 proof).

Old Route 8 Single Barrel Bourbon

Augusta Distillery · 127.3 Proof

Orphan Barrel Copper Tongue 16 Year Old Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey

Orphan Barrel Whiskey Distilling Co. · 89.8 Proof

Peerless Double Oak Bourbon

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / 54–57% ABV)

Peerless Double Oak Rye

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / 54–57% ABV)

Peerless High Rye Bourbon

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~110–111 Proof / ~55.3% ABV)

Peerless Single Barrel (Bourbon / Rye)

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (Varies, ~108–116+ Proof)

Peerless Small Batch Bourbon

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~108–112 Proof / 54–56% ABV)

Peerless Small Batch Rye

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~107–112 Proof / 53.5–56% ABV)

Penelope Barrel Strength Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Barrel Proof (~114–116+ Proof / ~57–58% ABV)

Penelope Toasted Series Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Proof varies by batch (~100 Proof or Cask Strength)

Penelope Toasted Series Straight Rye

Penelope Bourbon · Proof varies (~100 Proof or Cask Strength)

Pursuit Spirits Single Barrel Collection

Pursuit Spirits · Barrel Proof (Varies, ~110–135+ Proof)

Pursuit United Barrel Proof Triple Mash Bourbon

Pursuit Spirits · Barrel Proof (~118–122+ Proof / ~59–61% ABV)

Pursuit United Barrel Proof Triple Mash Rye

Pursuit Spirits · Barrel Proof (~120–124+ Proof / ~60–62% ABV)

Rebel Cask Strength

Lux Row Distillers · Barrel Proof (~120+ Proof / ~60% ABV)

Russell's Reserve 13 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof; varies by release (Spring 2026: 121.2 Proof / 60.6% ABV; Spring 2025: 114.8 Proof)

Russell's Reserve Single Rickhouse

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Annual barrel-proof series; varies by edition (2022 Camp Nelson C: 112.4; 2023 Camp Nelson F: 117.6; 2024 Camp Nelson B: 120.2; 2025 Camp Nelson E: 128 Proof)

Stagg (formerly Stagg Jr.)

Buffalo Trace Distillery · Barrel Proof (~125–135+ Proof / ~62–67.5% ABV)

Starlight American Single Malt

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Varies (94 Proof to Cask Strength)

Starlight Finished Bourbon & Rye Series

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Variable Proof (~100–116+ Proof)

Starlight Single Barrel / Cask Strength Rye

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Barrel Proof (~112–118+ Proof / ~56–59% ABV)

Still Austin Cask Strength Bourbon

Still Austin Whiskey Co. · Barrel Proof (~116–118 Proof / ~58–59% ABV)

Still Austin Cask Strength Rye

Still Austin Whiskey Co. · Barrel Proof (~116 Proof / ~58% ABV)

Still Austin Single Barrel Bourbon / Rye

Still Austin Whiskey Co. · Barrel Proof (~114–120+ Proof)

Straight Wheat Whiskey Cask Strength

Middle West Spirits · Cask Strength (~120–126+ Proof / ~60–63% ABV)

Thomas S. Moore Extended Cask Finishes

Barton 1792 Distillery · ~95–99 Proof (Varies by cask)

Whiskey Thief "Fifth of July" Limited Release

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~115–124+ Proof)

Whiskey Thief Anniversary / Heritage Single Barrels

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~120–126+ Proof)

Whiskey Thief Single Barrel Bourbon

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~114–125+ Proof / ~57–62.5% ABV)

Whiskey Thief Straight Rye Whiskey

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~112–118+ Proof)

Whiskey Thief Wheated Bourbon

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~115–122+ Proof)

WhistlePig 10 Year Single Barrel (PiggyBank / Cask Strength)

WhistlePig Whiskey · Barrel Proof (~110–120+ Proof)

Wild Turkey Rare Breed Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~116.8 Proof / 58.4% ABV)

Wild Turkey Rare Breed Rye

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~112.2 Proof / 56.1% ABV)

Wilderness Trail Cask Strength Bourbon (High-Rye)

Wilderness Trail Distillery · Barrel Proof (~112–120+ Proof / ~56–60% ABV)

Wilderness Trail Cask Strength Bourbon (Wheated)

Wilderness Trail Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–118+ Proof / ~55–59% ABV)

Wilderness Trail Cask Strength Kentucky Straight Rye

Wilderness Trail Distillery · Barrel Proof (~105–116+ Proof / ~52.5–58% ABV)

Willett Family Estate Single Barrel (Bourbon / Rye)

Willett Distillery · Barrel Proof (Varies, ~110–135+ Proof)

Willett Family Estate Small Batch Bourbon (4 Year)

Willett Distillery · Cask Strength (~108–114+ Proof)

Willett Family Estate Small Batch Rye (4 Year)

Willett Distillery · Cask Strength (~106–115+ Proof)

Willett Wheated 8 Year Bourbon

Willett Distillery · Batch Proof (~108 Proof / ~54.0% ABV)

William Larue Weller

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 128 Proof

Woodford Reserve Batch Proof

Woodford Reserve Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–125+ Proof / ~60–62.5% ABV)

Browse Bottles in This Style →

Try It Yourself

Trying a high-proof / barrel-proof whiskey? Use the Guided Tasting experience to walk through aroma, palate, and finish while it's actually in the glass -- a more useful way to learn what this style tends toward than reading about it alone.

Related Guides

Related Styles

← Back to Bourbon & Whiskey Styles