// Sweet & Dessert-Like

Toffee

What It Actually Smells or Tastes Like

A darker, slightly burnt-sugar sweetness -- richer and more bitter-edged than caramel, closer to actual toffee candy than raw sugar.

How to Recognize It

Often shows up as caramel's heavier, more developed cousin -- look for it in bourbons that already lean caramel-forward but with an extra layer of roasted depth.

Flavor perception varies from person to person -- this is a guide for what to check for, not a claim that everyone tasting the same pour will notice it the same way.

How It Connects to Production

Like caramel and vanilla, this traces back to sugars in the charred oak reacting with the spirit during maturation -- a deeper char level tends to push in this richer, more roasted direction, though it's an influence, not a guarantee.

Related Descriptors in Sweet & Dessert-Like

Related Glossary Terms

Continue Learning

Bourbon Styles Often Associated With Toffee

Based on each style's own documented flavor tendencies -- not a ranking, and not a guarantee any specific bottle within a style shows this note.

Explore Bottles Showing Toffee

41 real bottles in our Distillery Directory whose own listed flavor notes include a real, closely related phrase for this descriptor (not the exact wording, but the same flavor family, per our alias table).

13th Colony 2022 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 135.3 Proof

13th Colony 2023 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 136.8 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 133.74 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Double Oaked Bourbon Single Barrel

13th Colony Distilleries · 141.6 Proof

1792 Full Proof

Barton 1792 Distillery · 125 Proof

Angel's Envy Cask Strength Rye

Angel's Envy Distillery · Cask Strength (~112–116+ Proof)

Bernheim Original Wheat Whiskey

Heaven Hill Distillery · 90 Proof

Buckner's 10 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Barrel Proof (~118–125+ Proof)

Carl T. Huber's Double Oaked Bourbon

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Batch / Cask Strength (~106–112 Proof)

Castle & Key Small Batch Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · ~98–101 Proof (~49–50.5% ABV)

Cavehill Cask Strength

Rabbit Hole Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–116 Proof / ~55–58% ABV)

Clermont Steep American Single Malt

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed on the current official page; third-party coverage of the 2023 launch reported roughly 94 proof / 47% ABV, unconfirmed against current official copy.

Distillers' Share No. 01 -- Toasted Brown Rice

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Sold out; documented here as a real, distinct past release in this experimental, distillery-exclusive series. Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Distillers' Share No. 04 -- 17-Year-Old Campus Blend

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Sold out; documented here as a real, distinct past release in this experimental, distillery-exclusive series. Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Distillers' Share No. 05 -- Extended Fermentation

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Part of an experimental, distillery-exclusive series; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Eagle Rare 10 Year

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 90 Proof

Frey Ranch Single Barrel Bourbon

Frey Ranch Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–135+ Proof)

Garrison Brothers PX

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 109 Proof

George Dickel Barrel Select

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · 86 Proof

George Dickel Single Barrel 15 Year

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · Variable Proof (~80–105+ Proof)

Green River Full Proof Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · Full / Batch Proof (~117.3 Proof / ~58.65% ABV)

Green River Wheated Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Jack Daniel's Bonded Rye

Jack Daniel Distillery · 100 Proof

Jim Beam Double Oak

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Knob Creek 21 Year Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Maker's Mark Cask Strength

Maker's Mark Distillery · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / ~54–57% ABV)

Michelone Reserve Bourbon

Middle West Spirits · 95 Proof

Michelone Reserve Cask Strength Bourbon

Middle West Spirits · Cask Strength (~120–124+ Proof / ~60–62% ABV)

Old Elk Four Grain Bourbon

Old Elk Distillery · 105.9 Proof

Orphan Barrel Copper Tongue 16 Year Old Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey

Orphan Barrel Whiskey Distilling Co. · 89.8 Proof

Penelope Barrel Strength Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Barrel Proof (~114–116+ Proof / ~57–58% ABV)

Penelope Estate Collection (Bottled-in-Bond)

Penelope Bourbon · 100 Proof

Russell's Reserve 10 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Russell's Reserve 13 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof; varies by release (Spring 2026: 121.2 Proof / 60.6% ABV; Spring 2025: 114.8 Proof)

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Whiskey Thief Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

WhistlePig 10 Year Single Barrel (PiggyBank / Cask Strength)

WhistlePig Whiskey · Barrel Proof (~110–120+ Proof)

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 101 Proof

Wilderness Trail Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon

Wilderness Trail Distillery · 100 Proof

Woodford Reserve Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Woodford Reserve Distillery · 90.4 Proof

Yellowstone Single Barrel (Private Selection)

Limestone Branch Distillery · 109 Proof

Explore Bottles by Flavor →
← Back to the Flavor Explorer