// Sweet & Dessert-Like

Vanilla

What It Actually Smells or Tastes Like

The most recognizable sweet note in bourbon -- soft, creamy, and closer to vanilla extract or a fresh-baked cookie than sharp candy sweetness.

How to Recognize It

Look for it early in the nose, often the very first thing you pick up, and again on the front of the palate before other notes build.

Flavor perception varies from person to person -- this is a guide for what to check for, not a claim that everyone tasting the same pour will notice it the same way.

How It Connects to Production

Vanillin is one of the compounds released from charred virgin oak as bourbon matures. How much comes through depends on char level, barrel-entry proof, and time in the wood -- not any single production choice.

Related Descriptors in Sweet & Dessert-Like

Related Glossary Terms

Continue Learning

Bourbon Styles Often Associated With Vanilla

Based on each style's own documented flavor tendencies -- not a ranking, and not a guarantee any specific bottle within a style shows this note.

Explore Bottles Showing Vanilla

162 real bottles in our Distillery Directory whose own listed flavor notes include a real, closely related phrase for this descriptor (not the exact wording, but the same flavor family, per our alias table).

13th Colony 113 Rye Whiskey Finished With Maple Wood Spirals

13th Colony Distilleries · 113 Proof

13th Colony 15th Anniversary Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 139.2 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.64 Proof

13th Colony 2025 Cask Strength Southern Rye Whiskey

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.7 Proof

13th Colony 2025 Double Oaked Bourbon Single Barrel

13th Colony Distilleries · 141 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.82 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Cask Strength Southern Rye Whiskey

13th Colony Distilleries · 122.9 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Double Oaked Bourbon Batch 4

13th Colony Distilleries · 131.5 Proof

13th Colony Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 95 Proof

13th Colony Southern Rye

13th Colony Distilleries · 95 Proof

1792 Small Batch

Barton 1792 Distillery · 93.7 Proof

1792 Sweet Wheat

Barton 1792 Distillery · 91.2 Proof

Angel's Envy Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Angel's Envy Distillery · 86.6 Proof

Augusta Distillery Small Batch Bourbon

Augusta Distillery · 112.2 Proof

Baker's 13 Year Single Barrel Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 107 Proof

Baker's 7 Year High Rye Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 107 Proof

Basil Hayden 10 Year Old Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Cognac Cask Reserve

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Golden Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Toast

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Ben Holladay Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Holladay Distillery · 100 Proof

Bernheim Original 20th Anniversary Limited Edition

Heaven Hill Distillery · 115 Proof

Bernheim Original Wheat Whiskey

Heaven Hill Distillery · 90 Proof

Blade and Bow 22 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey

· Limited release; reviewed first-party sources do not disclose proof

Blanton's Single Barrel

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 93 Proof

Booker's The Reserves

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut and unfiltered like standard Booker's, but finished in specialty casks that vary release to release (the 2025 edition used used-tequila barrels); proof/ABV not publicly disclosed.

Boxergrail

Rabbit Hole Distillery · 95 Proof

Buckner's 10 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Barrel Proof (~118–125+ Proof)

Buckner's 15 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · 119 Proof

Buckner's 17 Year Single Barrel

Augusta Distillery · Cask strength; proof varies by barrel

Buffalo Trace Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 90 Proof

Carl T. Huber's Straight Bourbon

Huber's Starlight Distillery · 92 Proof

Castle & Key Restoration Rye

Castle & Key Distillery · 100 Proof

Castle & Key Single Barrel Bourbon

Castle & Key Distillery · Barrel Proof (Varies, ~108–120+ Proof)

Cavehill

Rabbit Hole Distillery · 95 Proof

Clermont Steep American Single Malt

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed on the current official page; third-party coverage of the 2023 launch reported roughly 94 proof / 47% ABV, unconfirmed against current official copy.

David Nicholson 1843

Lux Row Distillers · 100 Proof

Distillers' Share No. 04 -- 17-Year-Old Campus Blend

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Sold out; documented here as a real, distinct past release in this experimental, distillery-exclusive series. Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Distillers' Share No. 08 -- Sweet Peat Barrel Finish

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Current release in an experimental, distillery-exclusive series; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Elijah Craig 18-Year-Old Single Barrel

Heaven Hill Distillery · 90 Proof

Elijah Craig 2026 PGA Championship Commemorative Edition

Heaven Hill Distillery · 108 Proof

Elijah Craig Small Batch

Heaven Hill Distillery · 94 Proof

Elmer T. Lee Single Barrel

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 90 Proof

Evan Williams 1783 Small Batch

Heaven Hill Distillery · 90 Proof

Evan Williams Black Label

Heaven Hill Distillery · 86 Proof

Evan Williams Bottled-in-Bond (White Label)

Heaven Hill Distillery · 100 Proof

Ezra Brooks 99 Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 99 Proof

Ezra Brooks 99 Straight Rye

Lux Row Distillers · 99 Proof

FarmStock Beyond Rye

WhistlePig Whiskey · 86 Proof

FEW The Smashing Pumpkins Bourbon

FEW Spirits · 93 Proof

Four Roses Single Barrel

Four Roses Distillery · 100 Proof

Frey Ranch Four-Grain Straight Bourbon

Frey Ranch Distillery · 90 Proof

Garrison Brothers Laguna Madre

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 101 Proof

Garrison Brothers Small Batch

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 94 Proof

Garrison Brothers Sonora Bourbon

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 108 Proof

Gentleman Jack

Jack Daniel Distillery · 80 Proof

George Dickel Bourbon (Aged 8 Years)

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · 90 Proof

George Dickel Classic No. 8

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · 80 Proof

George Dickel Straight Rye

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · 90 Proof

Green River Full Proof Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · Full / Batch Proof (~117.3 Proof / ~58.65% ABV)

Green River Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Hardin's Creek Colonel James B. Beam

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Hardin's Creek Jacob's Well

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Hardin's Creek Kentucky Series -- Boston

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Hardin's Creek Kentucky Series -- Clermont

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Heaven Hill Bottled-in-Bond

Heaven Hill Distillery · 100 Proof

Huling Station Single Barrel Bourbon

Old Dominick Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–120+ Proof)

Huling Station Straight Wheat Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · 100 Proof

Jack Daniel's Old No. 7 (Black Label)

Jack Daniel Distillery · 80 Proof

Jack Daniel's Sinatra Select

Jack Daniel Distillery · 90 Proof

Jack Daniel's Tennessee Rye

Jack Daniel Distillery · 90 Proof

Jeptha Creed Straight Four Grain Bourbon

Jeptha Creed Distillery · 98 Proof

Jeptha Creed Wheated Bourbon

Jeptha Creed Distillery · 100 Proof or Batch Proof (~115 Proof)

Jim Beam Black (Extra-Aged / 7 Year)

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Jim Beam Devil's Cut

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Jim Beam Double Oak

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Jim Beam Repeal Batch

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Jim Beam Rye (Pre-Prohibition Style)

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Jim Beam Sunshine Blend

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not publicly disclosed by the official source as of 2026-09.

Jim Beam White Label

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Jim Beam Winter Reserve

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Kings County Blended Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · 86 Proof

Kings County Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 10 Year Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 18 Year Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 7 Year Single Barrel Reserve Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Individually barrel-selected and bottled; proof not disclosed by the official source.

Knob Creek 7 Year Straight Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 9 Year

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek Blender's Edition 01

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 106 Proof

Knob Creek Bourbon x Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 113 Proof

Knob Creek Single Barrel Cask Strength Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Cask Strength single-barrel selection; recent example bottled at 127.1 proof.

Little Book Chapter 1: The Easy

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut and unfiltered components; overall bottling proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 2: Noe Simple Task

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 3: The Road Home

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Bottled at barrel strength; exact proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 4: Lessons Honored

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 5: The Invitation

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 7: In Retrospect

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 9: None for Granted

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book The Infinite Edition I

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book The Infinite Edition II

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · A new whiskey is added to the blend annually; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Maker's Mark

Maker's Mark Distillery · 90 Proof

Maker's Mark 46

Maker's Mark Distillery · 94 Proof

Michter's US★1 Small Batch Bourbon

Michter's Distillery · 91.4 Proof

Michter's US★1 Unblended American Whiskey

Michter's Distillery · 83.4 Proof

New Riff Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

New Riff Distilling · 100 Proof

Old Bardstown Estate Bottled

Willett Distillery · 101 Proof

Old Crow

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Old Dominick Single Barrel Tennessee Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–136+ Proof / ~57.5–68% ABV)

Old Dominick Straight Tennessee Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · 85 Proof

Old Elk Blended Straight Bourbon

Old Elk Distillery · 88 Proof

Old Elk Four Grain Bourbon

Old Elk Distillery · 105.9 Proof

Old Elk Straight Wheat Whiskey

Old Elk Distillery · 100 Proof

Old Ezra 7 Year Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 117 Proof

Old Forester 1897 Bottled-in-Bond

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Forester 86 Proof

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 114 Single Barrel 7 Year

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 114 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 16 Year

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 7 Year Bottled-in-Bond

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Grand-Dad Classic 80 Proof

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Old Overholt

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Old Overholt Bonded Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Route 8 Single Barrel Bourbon

Augusta Distillery · 127.3 Proof

Origin Series Wheated Bottled-in-Bond

Bardstown Bourbon Company · 100 Proof

Orphan Barrel Castle's Curse 14 Year Old Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Orphan Barrel Whiskey Distilling Co. · 95.8 Proof

Orphan Barrel Night Sage Blended Canadian Whisky Aged 25 Years

Orphan Barrel Whiskey Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Orphan Barrel Woven Honor 18 Year Old Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Orphan Barrel Whiskey Distilling Co. · 92.6 Proof

Peerless Small Batch Bourbon

Kentucky Peerless Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~108–112 Proof / 54–56% ABV)

Penelope Architect Series

Penelope Bourbon · 104 Proof

Penelope Four Grain Straight Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · 80 Proof

Penelope Toasted Series Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Proof varies by batch (~100 Proof or Cask Strength)

Penelope Tokaji Cask (Cooper Series)

Penelope Bourbon · 107 Proof

Penelope Valencia (Cooper Series)

Penelope Bourbon · 97 Proof

PiggyBack 100 Proof Bourbon (6 Year)

WhistlePig Whiskey · 100 Proof

Pursuit United Double Oak Bourbon

Pursuit Spirits · 108 Proof

Pursuit United Triple Mash Bourbon (108 Proof)

Pursuit Spirits · 108 Proof

Pursuit United Triple Mash Rye (88 Proof)

Pursuit Spirits · 88 Proof

Rebel 100 Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 100 Proof

Russell's Reserve 10 Year Old Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Russell's Reserve 6 Year Old Rye

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel Rye

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 104 Proof

Russell's Reserve Single Rickhouse

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · Annual barrel-proof series; varies by edition (2022 Camp Nelson C: 112.4; 2023 Camp Nelson F: 117.6; 2024 Camp Nelson B: 120.2; 2025 Camp Nelson E: 128 Proof)

Straight Wheat Whiskey

Middle West Spirits · 92 Proof

Summer: Red Corn Bourbon

Still Austin Whiskey Co. · 100 Proof

Very Old Barton (VOB) 80 / 86 / 90 / 100

Barton 1792 Distillery · Sold at 80, 86, 90, or 100 proof depending on the specific bottling; only the 100-proof bottling is Bottled-in-Bond.

W.L. Weller Antique 107

Buffalo Trace Distillery · 107 Proof

Whiskey Thief Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Whiskey Thief Wheated Bourbon

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~115–122+ Proof)

Widow Jane Black Opal

Widow Jane Distillery · 99 Proof

Widow Jane Decadence

Widow Jane Distillery · 91 Proof

Widow Jane Oak & Apple Wood Rye

Widow Jane Distillery · 91 Proof

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 101 Proof

Wild Turkey Bourbon (81 Proof)

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 81 Proof

Wilderness Trail Bottled-in-Bond Kentucky Straight Rye

Wilderness Trail Distillery · 100 Proof

Wilderness Trail Cask Strength Bourbon (Wheated)

Wilderness Trail Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–118+ Proof / ~55–59% ABV)

Willett Family Estate Small Batch Bourbon (4 Year)

Willett Distillery · Cask Strength (~108–114+ Proof)

Willett Pot Still Reserve

Willett Distillery · 94 Proof

Woodford Reserve Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Woodford Reserve Distillery · 90.4 Proof

Yellowstone Select Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Limestone Branch Distillery · 93 Proof

Explore Bottles by Flavor →
← Back to the Flavor Explorer