// Smoky & Earthy

Char / Smoke

What It Actually Smells or Tastes Like

A direct, campfire-like smokiness -- the most literal note in this family, distinct from the subtler leather or mineral notes nearby.

How to Recognize It

Most pronounced in bourbons aged in barrels with a heavier char level -- if this note dominates, check the barrel's char level if it's listed.

Flavor perception varies from person to person -- this is a guide for what to check for, not a claim that everyone tasting the same pour will notice it the same way.

How It Connects to Production

Comes directly from the barrel-charring process -- a heavier char (Level 4, "alligator char") produces more of this note than a lighter Level 1-2 char.

Related Descriptors in Smoky & Earthy

Related Glossary Terms

Continue Learning

Bourbon Styles Often Associated With Char / Smoke

Based on each style's own documented flavor tendencies -- not a ranking, and not a guarantee any specific bottle within a style shows this note.

Explore Bottles Showing Char / Smoke

82 real bottles in our Distillery Directory whose own listed flavor notes include a real, closely related phrase for this descriptor (not the exact wording, but the same flavor family, per our alias table).

13th Colony 113 Bourbon Finished With Maple Wood Spirals

13th Colony Distilleries · 113 Proof

13th Colony 15th Anniversary Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 139.2 Proof

13th Colony 2022 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 135.3 Proof

13th Colony 2023 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 136.8 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Cask Strength Southern Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 120.64 Proof

13th Colony 2024 Double Oaked Bourbon

13th Colony Distilleries · 133.74 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Double Oaked Bourbon Batch 4

13th Colony Distilleries · 131.5 Proof

13th Colony 2026 Double Oaked Bourbon Single Barrel

13th Colony Distilleries · 141.6 Proof

1792 Bottled-in-Bond

Barton 1792 Distillery · 100 Proof

1792 Full Proof

Barton 1792 Distillery · 125 Proof

Angel's Envy Cask Strength Rye

Angel's Envy Distillery · Cask Strength (~112–116+ Proof)

Baker's 7 Year High Rye Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 107 Proof

Basil Hayden 10 Year Old Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Cognac Cask Reserve

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Basil Hayden Toast

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 80 Proof

Bloody Butcher’s Creed Master Distiller Select

Jeptha Creed Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–124+ Proof)

Booker's The Reserves

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Uncut and unfiltered like standard Booker's, but finished in specialty casks that vary release to release (the 2025 edition used used-tequila barrels); proof/ABV not publicly disclosed.

Boxergrail Cask Strength

Rabbit Hole Distillery · Barrel Proof (~108–114 Proof / ~54–57% ABV)

Carl T. Huber's Cask Strength Bourbon

Huber's Starlight Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–120+ Proof / ~55–60% ABV)

Distillers' Share No. 01 -- Toasted Brown Rice

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Sold out; documented here as a real, distinct past release in this experimental, distillery-exclusive series. Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Distillers' Share No. 05 -- Extended Fermentation

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Part of an experimental, distillery-exclusive series; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Distillers' Share No. 08 -- Sweet Peat Barrel Finish

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Current release in an experimental, distillery-exclusive series; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Elijah Craig Small Batch

Heaven Hill Distillery · 94 Proof

Ezra Brooks 99 Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 99 Proof

Ezra Brooks 99 Straight Rye

Lux Row Distillers · 99 Proof

Frey Ranch Farm Strength Uncut Bourbon

Frey Ranch Distillery · Cask Strength (~120–132 Proof / ~60–66% ABV)

Frey Ranch Quad Malt / Specialty Releases

Frey Ranch Distillery · Proof varies (~90–110+ Proof)

Garrison Brothers Cowboy Bourbon

Garrison Brothers Distillery · 146.4 Proof

George Dickel Classic No. 8

Cascade Hollow Distilling Co. (George Dickel) · 80 Proof

Green River Single Barrel Bourbon

Green River Distilling Co. · 122.5 Proof

Hardin's Creek 2025 Warehouse Series -- The Beaver

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Hardin's Creek 2025 Warehouse Series -- The Mushroom

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Hardin's Creek 2025 Warehouse Series -- The Owl

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 110 Proof

Hardin's Creek Jacob's Well

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Heigold Cask Strength

Rabbit Hole Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–116 Proof / ~55–58% ABV)

Jack Daniel's Bonded Rye

Jack Daniel Distillery · 100 Proof

Jack Daniel's Old No. 7 (Black Label)

Jack Daniel Distillery · 80 Proof

Jack Daniel's Sinatra Select

Jack Daniel Distillery · 90 Proof

Jack Daniel's Single Barrel Barrel Proof (SBBP)

Jack Daniel Distillery · Barrel Proof (~125–135+ Proof / ~62.5–67.5% ABV)

Jack Daniel's Single Barrel Barrel Proof Rye

Jack Daniel Distillery · Barrel Proof (~130–140+ Proof / ~65–70% ABV)

Jim Beam Devil's Cut

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 90 Proof

Jim Beam Double Oak

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Jim Beam Repeal Batch

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 86 Proof

Jim Beam Single Barrel

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 108 Proof

Kings County Barrel Strength Empire Rye

Kings County Distillery · Barrel Proof (~120–128+ Proof)

Kings County Peated Bourbon

Kings County Distillery · 90 Proof

Knob Creek 12 Year Cask Strength Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Cask Strength; proof varies by annual release (2026 release: 121.2 proof / 60.6% ABV).

Knob Creek 21 Year Bourbon

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Knob Creek 7 Year Single Barrel Reserve Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Individually barrel-selected and bottled; proof not disclosed by the official source.

Knob Creek Single Barrel Select

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 120 Proof

Little Book Chapter 3: The Road Home

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Bottled at barrel strength; exact proof not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 4: Lessons Honored

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 5: The Invitation

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 6: To the Finish

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book Chapter 7: In Retrospect

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book The Infinite Edition I

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Little Book The Infinite Edition II

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · A new whiskey is added to the blend annually; proof/ABV not disclosed by the official source.

Michelone Reserve Cask Strength Bourbon

Middle West Spirits · Cask Strength (~120–124+ Proof / ~60–62% ABV)

New Riff Kentucky Straight Single Malt

New Riff Distilling · 100 Proof

New Riff Single Barrel Rye

New Riff Distilling · Barrel Proof (~105–118+ Proof / ~52.5–59% ABV)

Old Dominick Single Barrel Tennessee Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · Barrel Proof (~115–136+ Proof / ~57.5–68% ABV)

Old Dominick Straight Tennessee Whiskey

Old Dominick Distillery · 85 Proof

Old Elk Cask Strength Rye / Wheat

Old Elk Distillery · Barrel Proof (~114–118+ Proof)

Old Ezra 7 Year Bourbon

Lux Row Distillers · 117 Proof

Old Forester 1910 Old Fine Whisky

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 93 Proof

Old Forester Single Barrel (100 Proof / Barrel Strength)

Old Forester Distilling Co. · 100 Proof or Barrel Proof (~125–135+ Proof)

Old Grand-Dad 16 Year

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Grand-Dad 7 Year Bottled-in-Bond

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Overholt Bonded Rye

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · 100 Proof

Old Overholt Cask Strength

James B. Beam Distilling Co. · Annual limited release; age and proof vary by year (2023: 10 Years / 121 proof; 2024: 11 Years / 107.4 proof; 2025: 12 Years / 117 proof).

Penelope Toasted Series Bourbon

Penelope Bourbon · Proof varies by batch (~100 Proof or Cask Strength)

Pursuit United Double Oak Rye

Pursuit Spirits · 108 Proof

Rowan's Creek

Willett Distillery · 100.1 Proof

Stagg (formerly Stagg Jr.)

Buffalo Trace Distillery · Barrel Proof (~125–135+ Proof / ~62–67.5% ABV)

Whiskey Thief "Fifth of July" Limited Release

Whiskey Thief Distilling Co. · Barrel Proof (~115–124+ Proof)

Widow Jane Apple Wood Rye

Widow Jane Distillery · 91 Proof

Widow Jane Decadence

Widow Jane Distillery · 91 Proof

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon

Wild Turkey Distilling Co. · 101 Proof

Wilderness Trail Cask Strength Bourbon (Wheated)

Wilderness Trail Distillery · Barrel Proof (~110–118+ Proof / ~55–59% ABV)

Wilderness Trail Cask Strength Kentucky Straight Rye

Wilderness Trail Distillery · Barrel Proof (~105–116+ Proof / ~52.5–58% ABV)

Yellowstone Single Barrel (Private Selection)

Limestone Branch Distillery · 109 Proof

Explore Bottles by Flavor →
← Back to the Flavor Explorer